Also known as the Marjorie Fortunoff Mayrock Conservatory.
The Conservatory is a glass and cast-iron domed structure, and is among the most unique and architecturally significant buildings on Long Island. It was built in 1902 by architect Richard Howland Hunt as a palm court. In 1904, the architects Warren & Wetmore were employed by Mr. Vanderbilt to convert the palm court to a Turkish themed room. (Mr. Vanderbilt was having a larger palm house constructed down the road, at what is now 191 Idle Hour Blvd.) The conservatory was refurbished in 1985 and named after Marjorie Fortunoff Mayrock, sister of long time Dowling College Board of Trustees Member, Alan Fortunoff. The Mayrock Conservatory is a cultural centerpiece of Dowling College, as well as the community at large. Students, faculty, and friends attend receptions, lectures, and concerts in its elegant interior.
Conservatory from Above
Conservatory - Eastern Exposure
Conservatory Roof Detail
Conservatory Roof Detail - Western Exposure
Conservatory Door with Initial
Detail, Conservatory Wall
Conservatory Donor Plaque
Do you have information to add? Then please contact Diane Holliday.
Last Modified on May 11, 2012, at 03:43 PM by LPR